Indian Railways News

Indian Railways News

Indian Railways initiates upgradation of 90 Railway Stations showcasing Local Culture or History

In an attempt to increase passenger amenities and to give an aesthetic makeover to the most visited stations across Indian Railways, Ministry of Railways has formulated the plan to redevelop 90 stations across Indian Railways. The redevelopment plan of 90 stations is assigned to different zones/ nodal agencies. Given that some stations are important pilgrimage hubs and report over 45,000 footfalls per day, Indian Railways would strive to ensure that passenger’s get best services at the stations even during peak seasons.

It may be noted that Indian Railways isin the process of redevelopment of more than 600 stations. While doing this, efforts would be made to showcase local culture or history to reflect in the station façade.

For instance, Aurangabad station is to be developed on lines of Ajantha or Ellora, Agra station is to be developed on lines of Taj Mahal, Ujjain station is to be developed on lines of Mahakaleshwar temples, Nagpur station to have a big orange in the premises. Since Belgaum has history of Mahatma Gandhi visiting there, Belgaum station to have a big Charkha at the front.

Rail Land Development Authority (RLDA) is keeping elements of local heritage in facade/redevelopment of station buildings. For instance in Charbagh (Lucknow) elements of existing heritage building are incorporated in second entry NE Rly station, similarly in Gomti Nagar, elements of Awadh culture with Jali wok has been incorporated, in Triputi station, Lord Tirumala temple design has been incorporated, in Pondicherry, French colonial architectural elements are provided. Similar action will be taken for Goa Kota Nellore Ernakulam stations.

IRCON, NBCC, RITES, IRSDC, Zonal Railways and few State Governments will executive the job as per the List of Stations given below for upgradation as per the above plan:

Sr No. Station State Executing Agency
1 Tirupati Andhra Pradesh NBCC
2 Nellore Andhra Pradesh NBCC
3 Visakhapatnam Andhra Pradesh Zonal Railway
4 Guntur Andhra Pradesh Zonal Railway
5 Guntakal Andhra Pradesh Zonal Railway
6 Kurnool City Andhra Pradesh Zonal Railway
7 Vijayawada Andhra Pradesh Zonal Railway
8 Guwahati Assam Zonal Railway
9 New Tinsukia Assam Zonal Railway
10 Rangiya Assam Zonal Railway
11 Patna Bihar Zonal Railway
12 BapudhamMotihari Bihar Zonal Railway
13 Hajipur Bihar Zonal Railway
14 Patliputra Bihar Zonal Railway
15 Sonpur Bihar Zonal Railway
16 Chandigarh Chandigarh IRSDC
17 Bilaspur Chhattisgarh Zonal Railway
18 Raipur Chhattisgarh Zonal Railway
19 Rajnandgaon Chhattisgarh Zonal Railway
20 Safdarjung Delhi IRCON
21 AnandVihar Delhi IRSDC
22 Bijwasan Delhi IRSDC
23 Delhi Main Delhi Zonal Railway
24 Sarai Rohilla Delhi NBCC
25 Madgaon Goa NBCC
26 Gandhinagar Gujarat IRSDC
27 Surat Gujarat IRSDC
28 Ahmedabad Gujarat Zonal Railway
29 Rajkot Gujarat Zonal Railway
30 Vadodra Gujarat Zonal Railway
31 Bhavnagar City Gujarat Zonal Railway
32 Valsad Gujarat Zonal Railway
33 Ambala Haryana Zonal Railway
34 Shimla Himachal Pradesh Zonal Railway
35 Jammu Tavi Jammu & Kashmir Zonal Railway
36 Ranchi Jharkhand Zonal Railway
37 Barkakana Jharkhand Zonal Railway
38 Yeshwantpur Karnataka Zonal Railway
39 Mysuru Karnataka Zonal Railway
40 Dharwad Karnataka Zonal Railway
41 Ernakulam Jn. Kerala NBCC
42 Kozhikode Kerala Zonal Railway
43 Kottayam Kerala Zonal Railway
44 Palakkad Kerala Zonal Railway
45 Habibganj Madhya Pradesh IRSDC
46 Jabalpur Madhya Pradesh Zonal Railway
47 Bhopal Madhya Pradesh Zonal Railway
48 Itarsi Madhya Pradesh Zonal Railway
49 Ratlam Madhya Pradesh Zonal Railway
50 Burhanpur Madhya Pradesh Zonal Railway
51 Shivaji Nagar Maharashtra IRSDC
52 Lonawala Maharashtra Zonal Railway
53 Sholapur Maharashtra Zonal Railway
54 Igatpuri Maharashtra Zonal Railway
55 Wardha Maharashtra Zonal Railway
56 Pune Maharashtra Zonal Railway
57 Bhubaneswar Odisha Govt. of Odisha
58 Cuttack Odisha Zonal Railway
59 Sambalpur Odisha Zonal Railway
60 Jharsuguda Odisha Zonal Railway
61 Puduchery Puduchery NBCC
62 Kota Rajasthan NBCC
63 Jaipur Rajasthan Zonal Railway
64 Udaipur Rajasthan Zonal Railway
65 Bikaner Rajasthan Zonal Railway
66 Jodhpur Rajasthan Zonal Railway
67 Madurai Tamil Nadu Zonal Railway
68 Chennai Egmore Tamil Nadu Zonal Railway
69 Tiruchchirappalli Tamil Nadu Zonal Railway
70 Salem Tamil Nadu Zonal Railway
71 Warangal Telangana Zonal Railway
72 Mughalsarai Uttar Pradesh Zonal Railway
73 Gomtinagar Uttar Pradesh NBCC
74 Lucknow Uttar Pradesh NBCC
75 Allahabad Uttar Pradesh Zonal Railway
76 Jhansi Uttar Pradesh Zonal Railway
77 Mathura Uttar Pradesh Zonal Railway
78 Varanasi City Uttar Pradesh Zonal Railway
79 Varanasi Jn Uttar Pradesh RITES
80 Ayodhya Uttar Pradesh RITES
81 Izzatnagar Uttar Pradesh Zonal Railway
82 Gorakhpur Uttar Pradesh Zonal Railway
83 Dehradun Uttarakhand Zonal Railway
84 Haridwar Uttarakhand Zonal Railway
85 Asansol West Bengal Zonal Railway
86 Howrah West Bengal Zonal Railway
87 Sealdah West Bengal Zonal Railway
88 Darjeeling West Bengal Zonal Railway
89 Alipurduar West Bengal Zonal Railway
90 Adra West Bengal Zonal Railway

Comments are closed.